Hello, Guest

The Dedicated Poetry Bookshop

Tales from Ovid

Ted Hughes, C. Ovid

Price: £12.99


288 pages

Faber and Faber

May 1997


Bookmark and Share

About this title

When Michael Hofmann and James Lasdun's ground-breaking anthology After Ovid (also Faber) was published in 1995, Hughes's three contributions to the collective effort were nominated by most critics as outstanding. He had shown that rare translator's gift for providing not just an accurate account of the original, but one so thoroughly imbued with his own qualities that it was as if Latin and English poetwere somehow the same person. Tales from Ovid, which went on to win the Whitbread Prize for Poetry, continued the project of recreation with 24 passages, including the stories of Phaeton, Actaeon, Echo and Narcissus, Procne, Midas and Pyramus and Thisbe. In them, Hughes's supreme narrative and poetic skills combine to produce a book that stands, alongside his Crow and Gaudete, as an inspired addition to the myth-making of our time.

More From This Author

Keith Douglas: The Complete Poems

Keith Doug...

Keith Douglas
Price: £12.99

Read more

Poems of Exile

C. Ovid
Price: £14.99

Read more

Emily Dickinson

Ted Hughes
Price: £5.99

Read more

User Recommendations

Poetry Archive: Dannie Abse Reading From His Poems

Poetry Arc...

Dannie Abse
Price: £12.99

Read more

Soon Every House Will Have One

Soon Every...

Price: £5.00

Read more

Blizzards of the Inner Eye


Ian Crockatt
Price: £7.95

Read more